Skip to Content
June 14, 2017

OKMULGEE – The Muscogee (Creek) Nation is proud to announce the Living Legends Ceremony, which was created by Principal Chief A.D. Ellis during the 2005 Festival. The Living Legends Ceremony honors Muscogee (Creek) citizens who have made significant contributions to the tribe.

This year the Living Legends committee has selected Fredo (Chubby) Anderson, Jorene Coker, Ramona J. Mason and Former Principal Chief A.D. Ellis. The qualifications to be selected as a “Living Legend” are:

  • Must be an enrolled Muscogee (Creek) Citizen
  • Must be over 55 years of age, and
  • Must have brought recognition to and/or made outstanding contributions to the quality of life and development of the Muscogee (Creek) Nation on a local, national, or international level. All industries considered including, but not limited to: ceremonial/religious leaders, arts, public affairs, business/professional, education, voluntary service.

The honorees will be recognized in a ceremony on Thursday, June 22, at 5:00PM in the Mvskoke Dome located on the campus of the Claude Cox Omniplex. Dinner will be served immediately following the ceremony. For more information about the Living Legends Ceremony please call Belinda Hicks at (918) 732-7845.

2016 – Perry Anderson, Lillian Thomas, Wotko Long, Josephine Wildcat Bigler
2015 – Chebon Dacon, Sarah Deer, Jerome Tiger
2014 – Peggy Berryhill, Eli Grayson, William Sampson
2013 – Dr. Phyllis Fife, Jack Jacobs, George Thompson
2012 – Joy Harjo, Simon Harry, Elsie Mae Martin, Allie P. Reynolds
2011- Jimmy Alexander, Monte Deer
2010 – Patrick Moore, Dr. Pete Cosar
2009 – Dr. James King, Michael Berryhill
2008 – Wilbur Gouge, Johnnie Brasuell
2007 – Lizzie Bruner, Jimmy Anderson
2006 – Bob Arrington, Helen Coon, Phillip Coon, Edwin Moore
2005 – Hepsey (Randall) Gilroy, Rev. Harry Long, R. Perry Beaver, Amos McNac