Skip to Content
June 13, 2018


June 13, 2018

Eco Barnett/MCN Public Relations Summer Youth

OKMULGEE, Okla. – On Saturday, June 9, 2018, the Muscogee Creek Nation’s Mvskoke Nation Youth Services held it’s Mvskoke Youth Awards for its third year.

The MNYC was created on June 20, 2015, and the council helps out the communities and tribe through volunteer work among other things.

Nancy Mason, MNYC Director, said, “It’s really exciting for me to see these young people helping their communities and the Muscogee (Creek) Nation. Through volunteering they are gaining so many skills to help them become successful adults”.

The Mvskoke Youth Awards were created to celebrate the work of the MNYC after its exciting first year.

The awards created include the Vcvlvlke Mvnettvllke Emvnicv award (Old Who Helps the Young) and the Mvnettvllke Onaya award (Youth Visionary) along with awards for Male and Female Youth Council Member of the Year, which each member of the MNYC votes on.

“The Vcvlvlke Mvnettvklke Emvniv awards and the Mvnettvlke Onaya awards are inspired by the Center for Native American Youth’s Champion for Change awards.” Mason said. “This is a national award that recognizes Native youth impacting their communities.”

Out of the dozens of youth participating in the ceremony, 10 were chosen for awards.

“The nominees are usually people that are doing great things in their community because they want to help youth, but aren’t looking for recognition,” Mason said.

The Mvskoke adult peers who were chosen for the Vcvlvlke Mvnettvklke Emvnicv award include Terra Beaver, Rochell Werito, Julian Watson and Eric Yahola.

The youth chosen for the Mvnettvlke Onaya award include Celia Bateman, Sydne Gray, Kristopher Herrod and Darrell Proctor ll.

The youth chosen for the Male and Female Youth Council Members of the Year award are Joseph Kahbeah and Alexis McHenry.